The Norwegian Society of Pharmacology and Toxicology award the 2020 Poulsson Medal to Teun van Gelder

The Norwegian Society of Pharmacology and Toxicology award the 2020 Poulsson Medal to Teun van Gelder
Teun van Gelder

Professor Teun van Gelder, Leiden, the Netherlands, has been awarded the 2020 Poulsson Medal.

Professor van Gelder meets all the criteria for the Poulsson award and this honor is well earned. Over the years he has stimulated and contributed to international collaboration in clinical pharmacology with a special emphasis on therapeutic drug monitoring in research and in the clinic. Much of his efforts have been through and within the IATDMCT where he has served many leading roles, including past president. He has fronted the benefits of working in multidisciplinary teams, which he has stimulated by taking a central role in the organization.

Professor van Gelder is a medical doctor and a specialist in nephrology and clinical pharmacology, currently at Leiden University Medical Center, in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy & Toxicology. He has a wide range of scientific strengths and has an impressive list of publications in highly ranked journals. He has also led and contributed to several multicentre clinical trials.

A number of Norwegian scientists have enjoyed the inspiring collaborations with Professor van Gelder. He has visited the Oslo University Hospital and the Department of Pharmacy at the University of Oslo on several occasions and he was opponent for the PhD candidates Nils Tore Vethe and Ida Robertsen. In addition to his scientific merits, Professor van Gelder is an inspiring lecturer. His presentations are characterized by a positive attitude and a winning sense of humour, which is also demonstrated by his frequent encouraging comments to younger presenters at meetings and congresses. Professor van Gelder is well deserving of the 2020 Poulsson award and inviting him to the NSFT is an attraction for our society.

The board of the NSFT congratulates Teun van Gelder with the 2020 Poulsson Award. We are hoping that in 2021 we will find the situation safe to arrange the traditional Poulsson lecture in Oslo. 


Every year The Norwegian Society of Pharmacology and Toxicology (NSFT) gives out the Poulsson prize in memory of the Norwegian pharmacologist Poul Edvard Poulsson (1858-1935).
This Award is a longstanding tradition of NSFT that started in 1970 and is given to a colleague for his or her contributions to the scientific development in the fields of pharmacology or toxicology.
Among the criteria is also specifically that the awardee has been an inspirator for Norwegian scientists in these fields.
The previous winners of the Poulsson Medal are listed on our website .

Utviklet av Netlab, publiseres med eRedaktør